Prolifico

On handling automobiles | January 10, 2007

Just so everyone knows, and I know you’ve been wondering — when a former president dies, the flags are flown at half mast for thirty days. So we’ve still got awhile. I’m always confronted by a strange photographic itch whenever I see flags at half mast. I like the idea of bunch of people mourning someone they’ve never known, someone they may have voted against (or never voted for) because the federal government mandates it.

Continuing my partially Minnesotan themed posts — it was cold last night. And up here, it’s cold frequently, so what intelligent city planners have done (next to astronauts, city planners are my favorite people) is design a skywalk system. The system in downtown Minneapolis is large, over seventy-five buildings are connected over fifty-two city blocks. Needless to say, I did not walk all fifty-two blocks, that would take all day. Hundreds of stores are connected! If I only had hundreds of dollars (give me hundreds of dollars).

Had I been here over the holiday break, I would have done a much better job with gift finding and the whole game of wrapping them and finally actually giving them to their recipients. It’s just that I hate having to drive to each store. Few things disgust me more than driving, and 95% of the things that bother me more than driving are finding parking, caring for a car, traffic, and paying for car insurance. All which are at extremely high levels during the holiday season.

I do public transportation, enormous parking lots/garages next to those Pleasantville/Fairview mall mills with make me ill, when people fellate themselves when gasoline prices fall, my head aches.

For the rest of my life, I am resolving to do all I can do to never own a car. If I am forced to live and raise my family in an urban jungle so be it. Minneapolis is not the most ideal place to run with this idea of not having a car, but it’s doable. I am almost certainly thinking of northeastern locales, or maybe something on the order of leaving the country. This is probably just a natural rejection of my suburban rearing. But it’s strong enough to make some solid plans about where I really want to live.

Posted in College, Travel

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

