Prolifico

earnings per share | May 28, 2006

Personally, I respond to criticism more strongly than I do to praise. Of course, I am a sensitive person and upon receiving the criticism, I decamp until I figure out a way to convince myself that the criticizing person is an idiot and should probably be excecuted. Most of the time this works well, but I do not believe in the dealth penalty. What I usually end up asking myself is “what is s/he, a professor?”

To most effectively force myself to introspect, I would hold a three day weekend conference at a resort in Miami with the 12 people who have advanced degrees in “prolificology”. They would point out what they currently do not like about me, why it would be in my best interest to do something about it, how I would do this. After all 12 went, we would hold a vote on the issues and I would adhere to the prescriptions prescribed for the top three, because these 12 people and I all would know me.

The roommate tries to effect change in me with constant criticism of some aspect of how I behave and think. Essentially, he has nearly completely lost all credibility due to his overuse of the pronoun you followed by a vapid observation. What I now like to say in response to one of these is “you need to observe other things, like your butt.” I have too many layers of manners to explicitly tell him to shut the fuck up, and strangely, he would actually be offended by that. If he were to hold a weekend conference at a resort in Miami on the topic of himself, I would definitely ascribe the majority of his problems in life to being too critical of the people who actually like him. However irritating, we need these overcritical people, they help us to appreciate the nice and soft people who do not say anything if they do not having anything nice to say. The most effective people are those who are 4 parts praise and 1 part criticism. They can mix it up.

Posted in College

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

